My mom battled breast cancer for 20 years, she was diagnosed when she was 42 and died at the age of 62 in February 2009. 
 
After my mom passed in 2009, I moved to Canada to start my life here in Calgary.  In September, 2009 I became pregnant with my daughter, Sofia.  When 6 months pregnant, I noticed a small lump in my breast but both my doctor and Ob Gyn told me it was likely just milk ducts and not to worry.  I was 31 at the time.

After Sofia was born, the lump was forgotten, until almost 2 years ago on Feb 19, 2011 when I started experiencing extreme abdominal pain and nausea in the night.  It appeared to be a gallbladder infection.  It didn't take too long before the pain was so great that an ultrasound was done.  Not a gallbladder infection - when all was said and done,  I was  told that I have stage 4 breast cancer, with lesions on my liver and mets all over my bones.  After nursing my mother through this terrible illness, and at such a young age, it was an unbelievable diagnosis for me to face.

Chemo was begun in Mar, 2011 and it has been up and down since then with various drugs, some helping more than others.  In September of this year I was hospitalized for a week and had to stop working.  In the midst of all of this, almost a year ago during a visit to the Philippines we fell in love with a newborn baby, Logan, who was in need of a loving family and decided to adopt him. While most families would be closing in and protecting what financial and emotional resources they have, we opened up their arms to another child.

That's our story in a nutshell.  Through all this cancer journey, I am blessed to have a very supportive family, friends, a husband, and a lovely daughter Sofia, she is 3.  Logan will be 1 year old in a few days. 

Currently, I am still on chemo treatment (XELODA), this has been the 3rd chemo since my diagnosis, and 2 hormonal treatment which failed.  I know that one day they will stop working for me, or be too toxic to continue, which leads me to go for alternative treatment. 

I am hoping to do a fundraising online to help me with alternative treatment (My account for the fundraising is still being setup, I will go live once everything is confirmed), and it is my hope that friends, family and people with good heart will be able to help me prolong my life. 

I feel now that putting in effort to prolong my life, as well as creating an environment for potential healing using both conventional and alternative treatment, emotional, spiritual and physical, along with acceptance of the outcome of life, which is death, can only make my journey more rewarding..

Thank you and God Bless,
Jenifer Chavez
Picture
This was taken during my chemo treatment (taxotere) last year, with my daughter Sofia.

Mau
1/14/2013 09:06:35 pm

Jhen,I am proud of you. You are very smart and brave woman, May God continue to heal and bless you and grant your heart desire....In Jesus Name.....Jesus Loves you. We are praying for you here...Mau

Reply
jen
1/15/2013 12:53:22 am

Hi Mau,

Thank you for such an encouraging words. Maragul a saup ing pangadi and I can't thank you enough for praying for me. God Bless you my dear...

Reply
coraguilar
10/18/2013 12:57:20 am

we dont feel d pain ur going through. u are brave. try the muscadine grapeseed for ur cancer. it helped a friend. just try it.God speed.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Project Hope
    for alternative treatment, please make a donation.....




    Author

    I am 32 years old, have 1 lovely daughter and married for 3 years. 
     I love my family, I am fun, loving and have so much zest for life.   I am very social, likes to entertain and be with people all the time.  I love to cook, husband complains how much I cook, even  during my treatment, I don’t drink and don’t smoke.  I am a computer geek, my career is into IT, just finished my Network Technician course last year here in Calgary, Canada. 

    I sometimes love to read book, watch movies but not much into tv show.  I never  thought of having cancer at a young age, though I have a history of cancer in my family.     I was shocked when I found out I have cancer and that this is going to be my life.   I was actually diagnosed in late week of February, stage 4 from the get go, mets to liver and bones.  Since the diagnosis I have been through lot of difficulties, it wasn’t easy and I don’t want to be on this path, where I have to deal with cancer and treatment, but I am left with no options.  The only choice I have right now is to live my life and enjoy till it last.  I know that cancer isn’t curable and that they can only treat me as to buy some time, but I want to make it everyday and be strong, to make the right choice to live a life that I can be proud of and happy with.  My source of inspiration is my family back home (Philippines), my husband and my daughter.  I am doing my blog to share inspiration to those who are going through this difficult time, and share my diagnosis, treatment plan, how am I surviving each treatment, and be a resource to people with cancer.  I believe that no one should have cancer and no one deserves it. 

     

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013
    June 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013
    November 2012
    October 2012
    June 2011
    May 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011
    May 2009
    April 2009

    Categories

    All